Peace

27 Peace I leave with you; My [perfect] peace I give to you; not as the world gives do I give to you. Do not let your heart be troubled, nor let it be afraid. [Let My perfect peace calm you in every circumstance and give you courage and strength for every challenge.] (John 14:27, AMP)

 I had a couple of disconcerting dreams last night. Nothing too serious, but enough to jolt me up in the middle of the night and make me a little afraid of going back to sleep. I tried to stay awake, and don’t know when I eventually dozed off.

So today, I am meditating on this wonderful verse.

tranquil-spot-1314388-1599x1066
Image credit: https://www.freeimages.com/photo/tranquil-spot-1314388

Isn’t it amazing that Jesus has given us His peace – His perfect peace. Not in piece meal bits, but complete perfect peace in order that our hearts and minds may be kept whole?

I love too that this verse asks us to not let our hearts be troubled – that requires some work/responsibility on our part. The work of guarding our hearts from anxiety and fear falls on us. Do not allow your heart to be troubled – because Jesus has already given you His peace.

This is such soothing news to my sleep deprived mind right now. As I meditate on this verse, I am confronting every thought of fear and anxiety trying to take root in my heart and refusing to let them torment me any further.

Lord, I receive your perfect peace that calms me in every situation, and gives me courage and strength for every challenge.

I will not let my heart be troubled or afraid.

The second half of the year 2018 starts today. So my dear reader, go forth in the peace of Jesus – which He so abundantly gives us. Let this peace calm you and be your strength, whatever comes your way.

Selah.

PS: Want to listen to our podcasts? Check them out on Soundcloud – https://soundcloud.com/rineevotional

Leave a comment