Compassionate Jesus

Photo @DEMMYBACUS

For we do not have a High Priest who is unable to sympathize and understand our weaknesses and temptations, but One who has been tempted [knowing exactly how it feels to be human] in every respect as we are, yet without [committing any] sin. (Hebrews 4:15, AMP)

What an awesome verse!

I remember some of our arguments as a newly wed couple. I would share a problem with my husband and he would launch full steam into analysis/solution mode. This would get me even more upset, and then he would get frustrated thinking that he was trying to provide solutions and I wasn’t appreciating that. What an exhausting cycle that was!

Until finally, I was able to explain – I don’t care about your perfectly logical answers as to why I feel bad because I ran out of gas on the highway! No! I don’t want to hear that I should have kept an eye on the fuel gauge way before it got to E (empty). I want you to say sorry, put your arms around me and tell me it’s not a big deal. I want empathy not judgement! I want you to understand how I felt and where I am coming from. Remembering the confusion on his face now makes me laugh.

He has since improved greatly in the art of listening first and making effort to show he understands before offering his analysis.

Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Isn’t it great that we have a high priest who is able to empathize? Who understands what we feel, who also feels our pain? Empathy is the ability to understand and share the feelings of another. It’s sad that a lot of Christians have come across to non-Christians as judgmental. Our Jesus is One who feels our pain. He knows exactly how it feels to be human as He was human too. He is also compassionate. Compassion is empathy taken a step further – empathy accompanied by a willingness to help or take action.

Examples of these abound in scripture. His heart went out to the widow of Nain, as he came across the funeral procession going to bury her only son (Luke 7:13). He wept as he approached the grave where Lazarus his friend was buried. (John 11:35). He understood the needs of the hungry crowd who had been with him 3 days, without food and provided food via a miracle (Mark 8:2).

I pray that we will emulate the example of Jesus today – showing empathy and compassion for our fellow humans not cold judgement.

Selah

Leave a comment