Search my heart, O God

Psalm 17: 1-5

 Hear me, LORD, my plea is just; listen to my cry. Hear my prayer– it does not rise from deceitful lips – (Psalm 17:1, NIV)

I turned to this psalm at the end of a busy day, as I lay in bed. It got my attention from the first verse! I found the first 5 verses very thought provoking. As I am introverted by nature, I find that I lay in bed with regrets after a long day spent talking a lot.

I did more than my fair share of talking today, and as is almost always the case, when you talk too much, you end up saying things you shouldn’t. Reaching out to the Father in prayer, this first verse prompted some soul searching and repentance – is my prayer rising up from deceitful lips? Did my lips transgress today? In what ways did I grieve the Spirit of God today?

20160506_060130

You see, prayer is not always about dumping on God and heading right back out the door. Prayer is also about God tugging on our heart strings, speaking back to us, and convicting us of sin.

As I reflected on the day, I knew that repentance was in order and my heart cried out to my Father.

As you come before God, invite Him to search your heart as David did. Let Him show you where you may have stumbled or where your steps need to hold to His paths a lot more. Our Father is full of grace and mercy.

Selah

 

Leave a comment